Employee growth is always something to celebrate, but employers also have a responsibility to report new hires. Under both federal and state law, employers must report new hires to the Indiana New Hire Reporting Center within 20 days of their hire date. This process, which is completed as part of the New Hire Reporting Program of the Indiana Department of Workforce Development (DWD), can be completed through DWD’s new hire website, IN-NewHire.com.
The new site includes several features designed to streamline the process for employers, including automated reporting confirmations and multiple options for reporting electronically.
See the FAQs below for everything you need to know about the process.
What is new hire reporting?
All employers across Indiana have a responsibility to report newly hired or rehired employees within 20 days of the employee’s first day.
What happens if an employer fails to report?
Each failure to report an employee within the 20-day time frame can carry a $25 fine. If the DWD finds that an employer or employee conspired to hide a new hire or provide a false or incomplete report, DWD can impose a fine of $500 per day.
Why is new hire reporting important?
New hire reporting can protect both the employer and the employee. Reporting reduces fraudulent unemployment insurance payments and workers’ compensation claims. By indicating to the state that an individual is employed, it also ensures that Indiana children receive court-ordered financial support.
How do I report new hires?
Employers can submit information through online reporting, electronic reporting, mail or fax — whichever suits the employer best. Electronic reporting is the fastest and simplest way to report, saving time and money. Employers using a payroll or accounting service can also ask the service to report new hires on behalf of the business.
Below are descriptions of methods for submitting the reports yourself:
· Electronic: www.IN-NewHire.com
· Interactive internet reporting
· Secure file upload
· Electronic File Transfer Protocol (FTP)
· Secure account and password created specifically for your company
· Confirmation receipt
· New hire reporting form, available at IN-NewHire.com
· Printed lists
· W-4 Form (add company name, company address, Federal Employer Identification Number, employee’s date of hire and employee’s date of birth)
What information do I need to report?
· Employer or business name
· Employer address
· Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
· Employee’s name
· Employee’s address
· Employee’s Social Security Number
· Employee’s date of hire
· Employee’s state of hire (required if reporting as a multi-state employer)
Will the information remain private?
All information submitted to the New Hire Reporting Center will remain private and secure. As allows by law, information might be shared with government agencies to reduce fraud.
Using a third-party vendor:
If using a third-party vendor to report new hires, please confirm the information submitted is accurate to ensure compliance with state and federal law.